Gallo Pinto

I lived in Costa Rica for a year in 2007-08. I did a home stay with a family for school. Every morning, unless busy or at work, my host mother would make me a big breakfast. It was gallo pinto, toast with butter, eggs, and fresh pineapple. I usually had water or strawberry juice to go with it.

Costa Rica made me step out of my food comfort zone. I, until then, wouldn’t eat peppers and onions. I also had a lot of weird eating habits- I would wipe down meat that was covered in sauce. I’m still not a fan of sauce but I’m not that extreme anymore. I also tried pesto for the first time at this great restaurant too.

So whenever I miss Costa Rica or just want an easy dish I make gallo pinto.

 

Leave a Reply

